“Vol’jin, I am ready, mon.”

Rasfari

A couple of weeks ago my troll hunter Rasfari finally hit level 90,  joining in the revolution against Garrosh’s reign of power.  This also made the fifth character on Drak to join the max level club, along with Arv, Heavy, Caden and Kerian.

Quintessential Quintet

Leveling Ras was actually fun.  Before patch 5.3 hit, the trek from 85 to 87 was a long a painful one.  As my bank alt and keeper of my personal guild on Drak, Ras didn’t get to reap in the sweet guild benefits like those in SR.  But after 5.3 hit and the nerf to XP, leveling to 90 was a breeze.  The only thing of help was the BoA ilevel 463 Sonic Pulse Generator gun that can be discovered while completing Mantid artifacts for Archaeology.  Ras is actually still using it, as he has not been lucky in several runs through the T14 raids.

As for spec, I chose to stick with Beast Mastery, mainly because of the rare and exotic pets you can use.  By far, the pet I use the most is the rare wolf from Northrend, Skoll, who I nicknamed Snoop.  His model has always been my favorite, with the blues and electricity crackling around him.

Having my pet tank for you while you sit back and pewpew from afar is definitely refreshing, lol.  Killing mobs and picking up quest items uninterrupted at the same time makes completing quests a cinch.  Some of my favorite abilities include:

Dire Beast – an extra pet to help out dps on a 30 second CD?  Awesome.  And the pet changes depending on the zone you’re in.  Ever seen a giant monkey beating down on the Scarlet Crusade in the Scarlet Halls?  Hilarious.
Lynx Rush – an ability that has your pet attacking multiple mobs, jumping back and forth, kind similar to a rogue’s Killing Spree.  I probably could have picked A Murder of Crows for more dps, but watching Snoop going crazy on mobs is worth it.
Stampede – summons all your pets currently with you at the same time to attack the target.  Combined with Dire Beast, this gives new meaning to the term pet frenzy.  Crazy!

So, being a troll, it was only right that I had Ras go through the Barrens quests and weekly for the title.  It was a slow and painful process, as I did it as a fresh 90 and was still running around with greens on.  Not to mention that the Barrens is pretty much dead on Drak and whatever CRZ it shares.  Snoop died…a lot and Feign Death was my friend, lol.  But I eventually got it done, now he’s properly named, ready for the Siege.

Ras and Snoop

One more thing of note:  I was honored to have Ras be the subject matter for an awesome piece of fiction that Navi wrote, which you can read here.  It’s a really good read that paints a small picture of a Ras’ adventure out in the Barrens.  Thanks again Navi! =)

11 responses to ““Vol’jin, I am ready, mon.”

  1. It was lucky you liked the story! I didn’t tell anyone just in case you didnt like the story and didn’t want to be associated with it. But it was inspired by you complaining how hard it was in the Barrens on Rasfari. Except I called Snoop his original name, Skoll.

    • Of course I liked it! I’ve been thinking about writing about my characters for some time now, but I don’t have the talent that most writers, like you, do, lol.

  2. Grats on another 90! That’s one scary looking troll O.o 😀
    You got Skoll?? I’m so jealous – I’ve only seen him once…dead.
    Off to read Navi’s story

  3. I feel your pain on taking a poorly geared troll to the Barrens. My poor rogue died a lot, but it was worth it for her to get the title.

    • Yeah, I’m currently trying to get my Alliance paladin the title too and she doesn’t have any gear either, plus she’s Prot and it takes forever to kill things. Might have to suck it up soon though, looks like they may be taking out the opportunity to get it once patch 5.4 comes out.

      • They have already said the Barrens 5.3 stuff will be going away in 5.4. Something some of my alliance guildies have been doing is going out in a group and killing stuff to help lesser geared characters not die as much.

  4. You’ve been busy if the hunter was recent and it was 90 #5. I really need to do the darkspeer revolutionary on my Warlock that just dinged, but not looking forward to it based on your experience.

    • Yeah, I have a new member of the Level Capped Club to introduce this week and another halfway there, so I’ve been busy with my alts, lol.

      It shouldn’t be too bad on your lock, as long as you can keep your blueberry alive and let it tank all the things. Let me know if you want some company in the Barrens, my DK, drood, mage or warrior could also get the title and maybe even a gear upgrade.

      Trying to get my human Pally her Hordebreaker title, but the trek is rough, worse than my hunter experience. She’s barely geared and only has a Prot spec, so things die a lot slower….if I don’t die first, lol.

Leave a Reply

