Challenge Modes with the Frostees

Getting ready for Mogu'shan Palace Challenger

Challenge Modes.  Heroic instances on crack.  These special instances are not to be taken lightly and require strategy and finesse to complete.  There’s no chain pulling and AoE’ing all the things down; now you have to be smart and use CC and your class abilities to make it through safely and quickly.

The first time I attempted a Challenge Mode was back during early 5.1.  It was me, Zug, Sorak on Fayle, Slice and Adoe and we tried out Gate of the Setting Sun.  I don’t really remember much of the instance, but I think we got the first two bosses down before we got stuck, frustrated and eventually gave up and decided to come back to try this another time.

A couple of weeks ago, I got a whisper from Navi asking if I wanted to run some Challenge Modes with her and Luxy.  I’ve been wanting to get back and try them again since my first attempts at it, so I was excited to go and said yes.  Originally, we were supposed to have Roshii and Souglyy round out the group, but they weren’t able to make it, so Navi brought Lushnek instead and Luxy invited her mage friend, Karnmageddon.  Navi wrote up an excellent post about our first week with the Challenge Modes here, even making an interesting comparison between Challenge Modes to the Disney movie, Wreck-it Ralph, lol.  I’ll summarize a little bit of that week.

Our first Challenge Mode was Scarlet Monastery, which was our trial by fire run.  We wiped plenty of times and didn’t medal, but we did see it the whole way through and still got an achievement for completing it.

Scarlet Monastery Challenger Time 04/13/13

I also unintentionally got an achievement off Thalnos the Soulrender by leaving three Empowered Zombies alive.  The fight did last a while and I guess we were so focused on the boss that we really weren’t paying attention to the adds, lol.

Empowered Spiritualist

The next day, we tried our hands at the Temple of the Jade Serpent.  Karn had done this Challenge Mode before, so he gave us some good tips along the way and we managed to squeak by with our first medal, a bronze!

Temple of the Jade Serpent Challenger Time 04/14/13

A pretty nice reward for our first go at Challenge Modes. =)

Temple of the Jade Serpent Challenger Groupshot 04/14/13

Temple of the Jade Serpent Challenger Achievements

________

Last Saturday, we started out our Challenge Mode weekend with Mogu’shan Palace, which was the  daily on Dath’Remar.  The instance went pretty smooth and quick and we improved on our bronze medal the week before by snagging our first silver!

Mogu'shan Palace Challenger Time 04/20/13

Taking the group shot was a challenge in itself, at least for me.  Apparently, I just fail in jumping onto objects and kept leaping over Xin the Weaponmaster’s chair for our group shot.  After a couple of attempts (I got on the chair once and tried to use my Instant Statue Pedestal and fell right though the chair, ><), I finally got settled to take our screenshot.

Mogu'shan Challenger Groupshot 04/20/13

Mogu'shan Palace Challenger Achievements

We then tried to do the Challenge Mode daily on Drak’Tharon, Scholomance, but I didn’t have enough time to do it.  With the five bosses and all that trash, I decided that it would take too long to do.  So we opted for Scarlet Halls instead, which Navi heard was the easiest of all the Challenge Modes.

I don’t know how this was supposed to be the easiest or maybe we were just doing it wrong, but we ended up dying…a lot, lol.  Most of it was because I didn’t have any Invisible Potions on me to skip a lot of the trash, especially the gauntlet after defeating Houndmaster Braun.  I think even Luxy had some defective pots on her, she would pop them running in, but the mobs would immediately see her and destroy her.  So we spent a lot of time corpse running through the gauntlet, while Navi and Lushnek would rez us at the end of it.  We eventually got to Flameweaver Koegler with just minutes left to get a bronze medal, but we messed up on interrupting his Book Burner ability, which filled the room with fire and wiped us.  Nevertheless, we got back and finished the instance, hopefully we can make it smoother next time. =)

Scarlet Halls Challenger Time 04/20/13

Getting two medals out of four instances isn’t bad for our first time running Challenge Modes.  I had a lot of fun doing these and I know everyone else agrees.  We will definitely be prepared (and I will be POTpared, lol) for next time.

11 responses to “Challenge Modes with the Frostees

  1. Grats on the cheeves & medals!

    I remember watching you guys attempt the challenge modes way back when. I laughed at Slice and said it wouldn’t happen because Sorak hates CC.

    • There’s no doubt about it, you’re gonna have to use some CC in Challenge Modes. Not all mob packs can be avoided, plus there is a kill requirement for each instance, like you have to kill 20 or 30 enemies to complete the Challenge. With Karn, Navi and Lush having stealth, it was easier for them to sneak pass some of the mobs. Luxy had her invis pots and because of cross-realm restrictions, they couldn’t trade me any of theirs. I did do some farming this weekend on my rogue to gather the Ghost Mushrooms and Sungrass needed to make the invis pots, so I’m g2g for our next Challenge Mode runs.

  2. I didn’t want to write about you failing the “chair boss”, but I put the pic in my post to remind me – I was going to comment here if you hadn’t but your write up was spot on! And that Scarlet halls thing – we wiped so many times I’m sure that was about 20 minutes of time sucked up so if we hadn’t died that would definitely have been a medal, I’m sure!
    There’s lots of good things about our group make up – two battle rezzes, stealthers, bloodlust, buffs, poly/frog/roots/cyclones/repentence – that it makes it really fun. Great write up Arv! Look forward to next Saturday – I might be a little late…

    • Thanks Navi! You know what’s funny, I got the Platform Hero achievement in two tries on the Isle of Thunder, bouncing around those pillars with no real issue, yet I can’t even manage to jump onto a stationary chair right….go figure ><

      You're right, we do have a unique setup, just like you mentioned. Plenty of CC to go around and two brezzes definitely come in handy. Can't wait to knockout some more CMs this week!

  3. Pingback: Challenge Modes: An Undaunting Task | The Crimson Hammer

Leave a Reply

