A Dino for the Hammer

Exalted with the Sunreaver Onslaught

Last night, I finally hit exalted with the Sunreaver Onslaught, the Horde faction that is stationed on the Isle of Thunder.  I managed this even though our server is only on stage 2 of opening up the Isle (we were at 97% completion before I logged for the night, so we should have the next area open today).

Gaining reputations with most of the new factions has never been easier.  Combine the Grand Commendation that you can purchase at revered with the daily bonus reputation from running a random Heroic dungeon and the path to exalted is a breeze.  I’m not sure if Sunsong Ranch offers work orders for the Sunreavers, but if they do, it’ll make the grind that much easier.

If only the Shado-Pan Assault was this easy, lol.

Lor'Themar Theron

When you reach exalted with the Sunreavers, Lor’themar gives you a special quest to retrieve the remains of one of the bosses in the Throne of Thunder, the Dark Animus.

Dark Animus quest

Attuned Crystal

Your reward for completing this task is a Sunreaver Standard, but I’m more excited at the chance of the Dark Animus dropping the Son of Animus pet.  Because, you know, it doesn’t take up any precious bag space, lol.

The Dark Animus is the ninth boss of the Throne of Thunder raid, so I won’t be seeing him on Normal mode for a while, since Horridon has been stomping our asses of late.  But the LFR for Animus should be available next week, so I could complete it then.

As with most factions, there are rewards available for purchase.  The Sunreavers don’t really offer anything exciting; there are some ilvl 496 belts, rings and neck pieces that can be purchased with valor if you’ve been unlucky at getting these to drop in HoF or TotES and a tabard.  But for mount collectors out there, you can purchase the Reins of the Crimson Primal Direhorn at exalted.  After the faction/guild discount, the mount comes out to only 2,100 gold.

I haven’t been mount farming for the other Direhorns that drop from the elites across Pandaria yet, but this is awesome first one to have.

Reins of the Crimson Primal Direhorn

A Crimson Direhorn for a Crimson Hammer?  Perfect. =)

UPDATE:  Thanks to Veluxia for pointing out that once you reach exalted with the Sunreaver Onslaught and purchase the Crimson Primal Direhorn, you automatically get the Alliance version, the Golden Primal Direhorn, on all your Alliance toons.  Here is a pic of Valoree on the Golden dino.

Reins of the Golden Primal Direhorn

11 responses to “A Dino for the Hammer

      • ZOMG! Warpigs got Garalon down and Wind Lord!

        *trembles in fear*

        Although Silent Strike and Rise of the Brotherhood somehow got a kill in Terrace without getting past the Queen.

        I thought you couldn’t even get into Terrace unless you had killed the Queen. Huh, wonder if they lifted that.

      • Someone could have gotten an Empress kill in a pug (don’t know that’s possible on Drak, but whatevs) and still be able to open up Terrace for the rest of the guild.

    • If Ghostcrawler gave me a Brontosaurus, I’d be a pleased Pally. That way I could block all the mailboxes in the Valley of Strength in Orgrimmar at the same time, lol.

  1. OMG! The Alliance version of the mount you buy at exalted is Golden Primal Direhorn! Must check if my Horde toon as it… checking now… Crimson Primal Direhorn. Mildly sad I can’t have both colours on my main.

    Gratz! 😀 Nice to have another exalted out of the way!

    • Thanks! And thanks for reminding me about the Alliance version. I went on my Alliance pally to check it out and it looks pretty cool. I kinda have to go with the Crimson one though, lol. I updated my post to show the Golden one too.

      I think it’s great that the mount works similar to the Grand Armored Wyvern from Dominance Offensive in that you get both faction mounts. Two for the price of one, how can you go wrong? =)

Leave a Reply

