Fantastic Four

Level 90

This past weekend, I managed to get my mage, Kerian, to level 90, thus making him my fourth toon to hit the max level, along with Caden, my druid, hitting the cap two weeks ago.  What puzzles me is that they have achievements for having two, three and five alts that hit max level, but not for four.  Why is, Blizz?  Need moar achievees!

I want to reflect a little bit about Caden’s and Kerian’s journey to 90.

Caden, Level 90

I leveled Caden from 1 to 85 pretty much as a boomchicken with a resto offspec.  I dabbed a little bit as feral in some of the lower levels, but gave it up quick because I wasn’t too fond of the combo point system.  So he remained boomkin up until level 85, where I decided to go main spec resto just like his healy brother, Vynn, my shammy.  Of my three healers at the time (shaman, priest, druid), Caden was the most OP and I really had fun healing on him.

When MoP came out, I heard a lot of complaints from the webosphere that boomkin was horrible to level in on the way to level 90.  So I gave feral a try again and forced myself managed to make it all the way to 87 before I got fed up with the dungeon queue times and decided to give the tank spec, Guardian, a shot.

Terrific Trio

Man, if only I knew how easy it was to bear tank at the higher levels, I would have gone Guardian a lot earlier, lol.  The rotation is easy and there aren’t too many abilities you need to use; I don’t even think I’ve filled up my spell bar with abilities >.<  Tanking on a new class is such a refreshing experience, especially on a class that you don’t have extensive experience with.

Kerian, Level 90

Kerian started as Frost in his early leveling days and become full-time Arcane at level 85.  I tried Fire for a bit, but with all the buffs/nerfs and changes to all mage specs and specific gear setups, I couldn’t keep up with it and just settled on Arcane.  MoP leveling was done all in Frost, which is where he currently specs in.  I might do some research and work on his Arcane, to see how he fares in Heroics and LFR.

Kerian wasn’t supposed to be the next one to hit level 90.  My plan was to have all the tank classes leveled first, which left Dizzee, my gobby warrior and Siopao, my panda monk, as the next ones to hit the cap.  For the most part, Kerian (at level 86) was just supposed to sit in the Valley of the Four Winds and travel back and forth from Tamer Nishi to the Silken Fields until it was his turn to level up.  As the third leg of my pet power-leveling rotation, he would battle Nishi to level up whatever baby pet I was working on from level 14 to 18.  And of course, the trip to the Silken Fields was for the Imperial Silk daily cooldown.

With the introduction of the XP bonus in patch 5.2 for low-level characters when winning a pet battle, I realized that Kerian was already halfway through 87, just by the pet daily alone.  I spent one night battling critters and aquatics on Kerian and taking a bunch of level 20 pets to 25 and taking him a quarter of the way into 88.  I figured at this point I couldn’t just leave him there, so I made the push this past weekend questing with the occasional dungeon queue pop (after waiting 30 to 45 mins each time, this is why I tank! lol) and got Kerian into the 90s club.  He still resides in the Valley, only now the travel from Nishi and the Fields is done much quicker on his flying Magic Carpet, lol.

So my dilemma is who to level next.  I have Valoree, my Alliance paladin, who is currently halfway through 86 and I could get my Double Agent achievement with her.  Or do I work on my other tanks like I said I would?  I played Siopao for a little bit and got her from 34 to 38 in two dungeons, that monk XP bonus coupled with a full set of heirlooms is crazy good.  Or do I level my shammy, Vynn, who is supposed to be my main healer and Arv’s second-in-command and who has been severely neglected?  And any three of my Hordies would get me the Quintessential Quintet achievement too.What do you guys think?

21 responses to “Fantastic Four

    • Lmao, of course you would pick him! =P He was the last one to hit 85 in Cata and looks to be the last to hit 90 in MoP. Although, the Warlock’s green fire quest looks interesting, you’ll have to let me know if it’s worth doing it, maybe Kaelina the rogue will get the short end of the stick this expansion, lol.

      Grym currently has one job and one job only; to sit his bony-ass right in front of Madame Goya and report back to Arv of any new BMAH goodies. =)

    • When 5.2 first came out, people were reporting crazy amounts of XP gains just by doing pet battles, which was quickly nerfed You could have gotten Notari to max quick (and probably banned, too, lol).

  1. Pingback: Everyone is leveling alts | Mohawk Troll

  2. Gratz! I think you should level an Ally next for Double Agent. SO MANY POINTS! Will make up for the 4th giving you nothing!

    I just finished my 4th yesterday, basically any alt aside from my Shaman is a farming toon for me. It’s the only way I can bare to level them. So painful! Dreading #5!

    • Thanks Luxy! My Ally Pally is closer to cap than the rest, so I’ll have to go with her. =)

      My alts are also my farming/profession mules too. Heavy is my miner/engineer/AHer…I love how engineers can manage the AH from within their respective shrines with the AH bot. Caden is my herber/scribe….farming nodes on a druid is too OP to pass up. And of course Kerian is my tailor/enchanter…I do need to get his Celestials rep to Exalted so I can make bags with all that Imperial Silk, lol.

  3. I have had four level-90s for some time, and even though the rep buffs have changed, every time I log onto one who’s level 87 or so, I just turn around and log off – just…can’t….do it….but when I do, my choices are my hunter, warlock, or paladin: probably the hunter for dinosaurs, although the warlock is fun, but the paladin gets instant queues, but the hunter, and the warlock, but the ….see the problem, too? 🙂

    • Lol, the life we altoholics live. =) And you’re right, the mood you’re in plays a big part of who you want to play. But if I had to pick one, I’d go with the insta-queues, so tank classes are a go for me…I’ve been really spoiled with them, lol.

Leave a Reply

