WoW TCG Sneak Peak – Timewalkers: Reign of Fire

Reign of Fire booster box image from Cryptozoic

Reign of Fire booster box image from Cryptozoic

Cryptozoic has announced the 21st expansion to the World of Warcraft Trading Card Game – Timewalkers: Reign of Fire.  The scheduled release date is July 23rd, 2013.  This is the third and final set of the Timewalkers Block and will feature 227 cards.  Here is the description of the new set:

Travel back in time to the era of Warcraft 3, as the Timewalkers witness the horrific power of the Burning Legion and its leader, Kil’jaeden. Monstrous players who align themselves with the demonic forces will be rewarded with the new Portal keyword, allowing you to summon more demonic minions with one mighty play. Or you can enlist the power of Medivh the Prophet, one of the two new master heroes in this set, as the former guardian seeks to atone for his grand betrayal by bringing the warring factions together against one common enemy.

With new Humans, Night Elves, Orcs, and Tauren at your disposal, will you assist the Alliance and the Horde in their fight for survival, or will you fight for the monstrous Burning Legion?

For the first time in the history of the TCG, this set will not have any new loot cards.  Instead, all loot cards from prior expansions will be up for grabs, so now you have a chance to pull loot like the D.I.S.C.O., the Flag of Ownership or even the ultra-rare loot cards like the Spectral Tiger mount or Spectral Tiger Cub pet.  I’ve included below all the loot currently available from the TCG and the original set that it came from:

Pets

Mounts

Other

And of course, what’s a TCG set without some great artwork?  Here’s a sample (all images from Cryptozoic):

Ky'lai Darkblood

Ky’lai Darkblood

Drek'thar, Frostwolf General

Drek’thar, Frostwolf General

Zhar'doom

Zhar’doom

Varimathras, Dreadlord Insurgent

Varimathras, Dreadlord Insurgent

So there you have it, Timewalkers: Reign of Fire should be available in a couple of weeks.  I’m a little bummed that there isn’t any new loot cards from this set, but I am excited for a chance to get a Wooly White Rhino, Magic Rooster Egg or any of the Hippogryph mounts from it.  Keeping my fingers crossed and hoping the RCG (Random Card Generator) rolls into my favor, lol.

16 responses to “WoW TCG Sneak Peak – Timewalkers: Reign of Fire

  1. Not surprisingly I’m most excited about the pets but some of the mounts and novelty items will be nice too. Look forward to seeing what you end up getting.

    • I read somewhere on another site that they are increasing the loot card distribution for this set because of all the loot that’s available. Now whether that means I’ll end up with 5 mount cards or 50 Sandbox Tigers will remain to be seen. I’m hoping for the former, lol.

  2. When I first found out that there was no ‘new’ loot I was disappointed. But I now realise that as I only have a few of the pets currently available and no mounts etc. that it should *fingers crossed* work better for me. I mean this in the sense that I can now buy cards from just the one set (when I’m feeling lucky) and have a chance at getting anything. Plus with more cards about prices should hopefully go down :)
    I imagine it’s pretty gutting for TCG players who have all the stuff already though :(

  3. That Dreadlord is badass. Good luck with your mount cards that you want Arv! I saw some of the ones you wanted on KT AH the other day and thought of you, but they were way out of my price reach.

Leave a Reply

