Oondasta Owned

Fighting Oondasta

Last Friday, I saw someone in trade chat trying to get a raid together to take down Oondasta, the giant T-Rex that resides on the Isle of Giants.  I had read earlier that day that Blizz put a hotfix that would make Oondasta spawn more often, so I figured I’d give it a shot.  So I whispered the raid leader to see how many they had in the raid and they told me they were only up to 6 people.  This was a little disheartening, especially since Blizz eliminated CRZ grouping by not giving players from other servers loot on a kill.  And since Drak is such a low population server, getting a decent sized group together would be difficult.

So I decided to queue up for a random LFD instead and after that was done, Van asked me if I wanted to kill the Zandalari Warbringer in Kun-Lai Summit.  While flying out there to meet her, Wok managed to join the Oondasta group and I whispered to him, asking him how many they had in the group.  He said there were about 17 people, so I told him to keep me updated while I help kill the Warbringer with Van.  Van asked me how many it would take to take out the Warbringer and I suggested two or three more dps to make the kill go faster, so she invited Averry and Shirl to come along.  And wouldn’t you know it, the Kun-Lai Warbringer drops the mount, which Shirl won.  Feeling lucky, I suggested that we go for the others in the Jade Forest, Krasarang Wilds, Dread Wastes and Townlong Steppes, but our luck ran out and we didn’t get any of the other Warbringers to drop their mounts, just a whole bunch of insignias and bags of crafting materials.

I had whispered Wok on the way to the Townlong Warbringer and he said that the Oondasta raid was full and that they were heading out to the Isle of Giants.  I told him to let me know how it went and a few minutes later, I got Wok’s DBM automatic message saying that they had wiped on Oondasta at 86%.  Wok was saying that it was pretty much insta-death out there and that he was getting 2 minute rez timers, lol.  On their second attempt, they managed to get to 64%.

After our Zandalari mount farming, I dropped group and headed out to the Isle to see if I could assist with killing Oondasta.  When I got there, there was already a second raid forming, so I joined it and invited Van back.  We only had 22 people in our group, but I figured this would be enough to take Oondasta down, since the raid was getting closer and closer to killing it.

I tried to take on some of the Crushes that Oondasta would lay on the tanks, but I wasn’t able to taunt off and instead kept getting smashed by the Piercing Roars and Spiritfire Beams.  I died four times and ended up with a minute rez timer.

Waiting to Rez

It wasn’t too long after that last death, though, as Oondasta finally bit the dust.

Oondasta Dead

Millions of Years of Evolution vs. My Fist

And for my troubles, I won a sweet ilvl 522 belt, Voolar’s Bloodied Belt.

Voolar's Bloodied Belt

I don’t usually save belts in my bank for future transmogs, most of them are too thin and small to notice, but this is definitely one I’m going to keep.  Look at the teeth on that thing, lol!

Arvash sportin' Voolar's Bloodied Belt

The loot tables for Oondasta are pretty good, so I hopefully I can get in on a few more kills on the dino.  One world boss down, one more left to go, can’t wait for Nalak to drop me some tier gear!

10 responses to “Oondasta Owned

  1. Yeah he’s not tauntable. =/ Poor tanks have to singly soak up the damage. I can’t see myself doing this on more than one toon per week. Grats on your kill and loot.

    • Yeah, afterwards, Wok told me that I should have stayed stacked with the other tanks, but I couldn’t get close enough before I kept getting one-shotted, lol.

Leave a Reply

