Now Sear This

The Time-Lost Proto Drake mount was a faster grind than this.

I didn’t have to wait long to get Aeonaxx to drop his Phosphorescent Stone Drake mount.

Even Dormus the Camel-Hoarder coughed up his Grey Riding Camel after finding 5 of his not-so-well-hidden Mysterious Camel Figurines.

So what grind am I talking about that’s worse than these three mounts?

Getting this guy.

Yeah, a pet.  The Searing Scorchling of the Molten Front, to be exact.  Of all things grindy, I don’t seem to have the greatest luck with pet drops.  Take for instance the Fox Kit.  I must have farmed tons of Baradin Foxes in Tol Barad that I could probably reupholster all the structures in Thunder Bluff…twice.  Thank God the pet was available through purchase for 200 Tol Barad Commendations.

The Darkmoon Eye and the Crawling Claw also seem to elude my grasp, no pun intended.  Jeremy “the Weasel” Feasel is such a teasel and still won’t give me my prize.  And I only get seven chances a month to battle him; I can hear that punk snickering and laughing his ass off every time I walk away from him empty-handed.  As for zee Claw, I’ve been solving a crap load of Pandaren and Mogu artifacts and exchanging them for Tol’vir fragments to get a Claw solve that if I don’t get the pet soon, I’m gonna go crazy and just punt Brann off the balcony at the Seat of Knowledge.

Back to the Searing Scorchling.  I’ve been farming this sucker all the way up to the end of Cataclysm, way after I unlocked everything in the Molten Front, including the Flamebreaker title and the Flameward Hippogryph mount.  It takes 30 Marks of the World Tree in order to purchase Zen’Vorka ‘s Cache, where the pet can be found.  To get enough Marks to purchase the bag each day, you need to do all four sets of Molten Front daily quests, starting in Mount Hyjal.  Van and Adoe got real lucky with their Scorchling drops, they managed to get the pets in their first and third bags, respectively.  You guys suck! =P

I started up the Scorchling grind again after finishing the Dominance Offensive storyline and finally last week, after what seemed like forever and going through hundreds of Zen’Vorka’s grab bags, I finally had my elemental.

Searing Scorchling

I even put my best outfit on to celebrate the occasion. =)

Goodbye Zen’Vorka and the Molten Front, you will definitely not be missed, lol.