Shared Topic: Flavors of WoW

This week’s Shared Topic from Blog Azeroth comes from Cymre who asks:

It would not be uncommon to hear about the initial release of World of Warcraft as Vanilla or Classic. In terms of ice cream or gelato (which is my preference), Vanilla was once considered the most popular flavour of it’s time. So if Vanilla represents Classic WoW, what flavours could represent the following expansions?

Burning Crusade

I started playing WoW in August 2008, so I really didn’t get to spend too much time in BC before Wrath was released a few months later.  Each zone had a different feel and tone to it, from the vibrant purples in the Netherstorm to the serene blues of Zangarmarsh to the harsh reds of Hellfire Peninsula.  This hodgepodge of different colors gave Outland a carnival-esque look, just take a look at the world map:

The zones weren’t the only things affected by the radical changes in color; the gear was all over the place too.  Many have claimed the gear drops were notorious for combining all types of mismatched, miscolored gear.  If there was a clown-flavor of ice cream, I’d definitely give it to BC, but we’ll go with the image below.


Ice cream sundae clowns image courtesy of Petite Cafe Otete

Wrath of the Lich King

Blue.  That’s the first color that comes to mind when I hear Wrath and the continent of Northrend.  And my favorite color, lol.  The majority of the zone is covered in the icy blues, from Storm Peaks to Dragonblight to Icecrown.  Many of the raids and the bosses that inhabit them are also bluey:  Malygos and his Eye of Eternity, Sapphiron’s and KT’s room in Naxx and pretty much all of the Lich King’s Citadel.  Even the npcs such as the Frost Giants and the Frost Vrykrul, both the Hyldnir and Ymirjar, had the smurfy blue color.  So that’s the flavor I would give Wrath, Smurfy Blueberry.


Smurf Flavoured Ice Cream image courtesy of Sixtyplusurfers

Cataclysm

Cata revamped the world of Azeroth, with Deathwing mainly affecting the continents of Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms.  Since Cata contained the old zones of Vanilla WoW, just with a different twist and new flavor, I decided to give this expansion the French Vanilla flavor, which also happens to be my favorite flavor of ice cream. =)


French Vanilla image courtesy of Brenda’s Canadian Kitchen

Mists of Pandaria

I did not play any of the MoP beta, but I’ve seen and read enough on the internez to know what’s coming (especially from Cym’s posts, lol =P).  If I had to pick an Asian-themed flavor that incorporates the color tone of Pandaria and the monk class, I would go with Green Tea ice cream, yum!

Matcha Green Tea Ice Cream
Green Tea ice cream image courtesy of About.com

Man, these images of ice cream are killing me!  Brb while I run to the store to cure my sweet tooth!

15 responses to “Shared Topic: Flavors of WoW

  1. Ooh, I like the sound of all those… I was going to ask what smurf flavoured ice cream tastes like (until I saw the blueberry) but adding the figurines (which I used to collect) was a nice touch and I love green tea ice cream too.

    LOL clown cones

  2. Gargamel would probably make real smurf-flavored icecream should he manage to catch one some day.. I can’t help it, it just seems so odd to see the little smurf figures sitting there!

    Shattered childhood memories aside, what a creative take on this ST! I especially liked your Cataclysm ice cream-metaphor. Couldn’t have chosen a better flavor for Mists, too.

    On a side note, what’s different about French vanilla as opposed to “regular” vanilla?

    • I’ve always preferred French Vanilla over regular Vanilla because it just seemed to taste sweeter to me. Slashfood.com has a more technical explanation for it:

      “While both ice creams use vanilla bean to flavor the cream, the base of the ice cream is where the two differ. French vanilla ice cream has a custard base, which means egg yolks (where the yellow color comes in) are used to produce a thicker, creamier texture. Heating is also involved in a custard base. The classic vanilla ice cream has a base of cream or milk that does not need to be heated.”

      Creamier = sweeter = full of win, lol

  3. Pingback: Shared Topic: Flavours of WoW « Azerothian Life

  4. You could go rainbow or bubblegum (sometimes is a rainbow pattern). That’s the ice cream I think of with clowns :)

    Although individual upside ones are pretty appealing as well

Leave a Reply

