WoW TCG Sneak Peak – Timewalkers: War of the Ancients

War of the Ancients booster box image from Cryptozoic

On October 2, 2012, Cryptozoic will release the next expansion to the World of Warcraft Trading Card Game – Timewalkers: War of the Ancients.  This is going to be the first set out of three in the new Timewalkers Block and will feature 270 cards.  Here is a brief description of the new set:

Travel back in time to when the demonic Burning Legion first invaded Azeroth, with Timewalkers: War of the Ancients.

The seventh year of the World of Warcraft® Trading Card Game takes players back to a time before the Cataclysm. A group known as the Timewalkers go back in time to mend a damaged past in order to restore the present.

In War of the Ancients, demons are running amok, as the Burning Legion has been brought to Azeroth as a result of Queen Azshara and the magic of the Highborne. Play as one of thirty heroes, featuring iconic characters from Warcraft such as Broxigar the Red, Malfurion Stormrage, and Queen Azshara. Recruit powerful new allies from the Alliance, including the hasty Night Elves or the steadfast Humans. Or assist in the growth of the Horde by aiding the frenzy-driven Orcs or the tribal Tauren. Who will you support? The righteous warriors of the Alliance, the rough and tough Horde, or the nefarious Monsters?

Thirty hero cards is pretty massive for an expansion set.  I think the most I’ve seen was twenty.  But to finally play as Broxigar, Mal and Azshara?  Pretty freakin’ cool if you ask me.  One of the interesting things about this set is that it uses a name for a rumored raid in the MMO – War of the Ancients.  Could we finally see this Caverns of Time-esque raid happen in-game?  I hope so, I think it would be a blast.

One thing the website didn’t mention were the loot cards that are going to be included in the set.  From what I’ve gathered from Wowhead, here are the proposed loot cards:

Common Loot Card – Eye of the Legion

  • This looks to be the new companion pet.  Looks similar to the Eye of Kilrogg that warlocks can summon.

Eye of the Legion image from MMO Champion

Uncommon Loot Card – Demon Hunter’s Aspect

  • This looks to be a costume item with unlimited uses and a cooldown.  No word on what this looks like, but if we get to look like Illidan, blindfolded (with Glaives?!?) and all, you know I’ll be rockin’ this all day when I get it!

Rare Loot Card – Feldrake

  • Ah yes, the mount loot.  Not too excited about this mount, it looks just like a recolored drake like many others with a little bit of green to accentuate the “felness”.

Feldrake image from MMO Champion

And as with any great expansion set comes some awesome artwork.  Here are a couple of the images, I personally think the Baine art just screams epicness!

Azzinoth image from Cryptozoic

Baine, Son of Cairne image from Cryptozoic

Furious George image from Cryptozoic

Can’t wait to get this set!  With MoP coming out in late September, the wifey’s b-day and now this expansion set, the next couple of months are going to be pretty busy (and expensive!) for me, lol.

18 responses to “WoW TCG Sneak Peak – Timewalkers: War of the Ancients

    • There was another Baine card released in the last couple of sets that also looked pretty awesome. I’ll have to post a side-by-side comparison with it when I get this new card.

  1. That artwork is great. The Furious George one is quite hilarious. I wouldn’t mind either demon hunter look :P The pet looks pretty ordinary but hey, it’s still a pet.

  2. Pingback: WoW TCG – War of the Ancients is here and have I got “Eyes” for you! | The Crimson Hammer

  3. You, are a giant bum. I just read your comment about Rhonin dying in Theramore (maybe, of course), but I hadn’t read or heard anything about that yet. I assume that was in the newest book? Poo! Spoilers!
    This is a great post, I just bought the epic collection myself. I got the Cata CE when it came out, so I’ve had a Worgen Warlock deck for a while, but I’ve never used it, then the other day my boyfriend was looking at it and we decided to play it, so he bought the Elderlimb starter deck, and we got to it. It took six games for me to finally win one, but we’ve only been playing for a couple of days and all of a sudden I’m shelling out loads of money on booster packs! It’s so very exciting, isn’t it? I don’t remember getting so excited over anything like this since Pokemon, and as an added bonus here, LOOT CARDS!!
    I hope it’s true that you can actually get any of the 3 loot cards in the epic collection, but I won’t hold my breath on that. Of course, if I get the Demon Hunter’s Aspect or the Fel Drake instead I’ll be sure to let you know! :D Thanks for the great info here, it looks like a fabulous set!

    • Lol, my apologies, I will definitely add a disclaimer next time to avoid spoiling the lore for everyone. Hooray for a new TCG player, I hope you enjoy it. There’s always that rush you get when you open a fresh booster pack and the excitement of pulling out that rare or epic or loot card. Just imagine opening up a box or two full of boosters, lol. Good luck with your loot card, definitely let me know if you get the Demon Hunter’s Aspect or mount and thanks for visiting! =)

Leave a Reply

