PvP Weekend Update – Gotta Love Me Some Southern Cappin’

This weekend’s Call to Arms BG was Strand of the Ancients, which has the potential to be the quickest BG to finish.  It all depends on how quickly you can capture the opposing team’s relic and how quickly you can stop them from grabbing yours.  I read a couple of weeks ago a very helpful and interesting post from Cynwise, explaining the pitfalls of capturing the Southern Graveyard in SotA.  His advice?  Don’t cap it.  I can recall capping the South once, when I was new to PvP, but never really understood the purpose of it until I read Cyn’s post.  Capping the Southern graveyard can put you at a farther rez point if you die, therefore making it difficult to get back to the workshops to grab Demolishers to break down the gates.  I saw this happen twice this weekend, both from an attacking and defending standpoint, and both times it turned the tide of the battle.

Here is a screenshot of my chat box, as the Alliance captures the Southern Graveyard:

The Alliance had us pinned up against the Yellow Gate and they were making great time, but we built our reinforcements at the gate and as the Alliance were dying, they had a longer run back to the Demolishers and we ended up winning as time ran out for them.

Now here’s another chat box shot, this time with the Horde on the attacking end:

As you can see, some of our team members vented their frustration at the South being capped, lol.  The exact same thing happened, only to us; we were making good time, about to take the Yellow Gate down, and we eventually lost because it took too much time to get back to the Demos.  Personally, I think they should remove the South Graveyard completely, as there is only one use for it, but the circumstances have to be right in order to do it, which is outlined in Cyn’s post.

I did get one achievee in SotA, which means I’m no longer on turret duty, yay!

I also got another achievee in AV, before the SotA weekend started.  When I usually get AV as a random, I either go all the way to Vann to take him down once the Alliance towers are destroyed, or I usually help out with recapping our towers when they get assaulted.  This time, I decided to go after one of the harder cheeves in AV.  I’ve always come close to completing this before, but I would always be either a graveyard or tower short.  Finally got lucky and scratched another cheeve off the list, lol.

9 responses to “PvP Weekend Update – Gotta Love Me Some Southern Cappin’

Leave a Reply

