Shared Topic: Jack of all trades, Illustrious Grand Master of them all

This week’s Shared Topic from Blog Azeroth comes from Effraeti who asks:

Professions are fun for some and a necessary evil for others.

Some of us have farming professions.  Some of us have crafting professions.  Some of us have a little bit of everything!  Professions are leveled because they fit our style of play, help us in raiding, allow us to outfit our alts, and make us money.

What professions do you have on your main?  Do his/her professions fit their personality?  Why did you choose them?  If you chose professions based on your character and not on gaming needs, would that change some of their professions they use?

When I first started playing WoW, I really didn’t know much about professions.  I guess it was because my friend Chewy had most of them, if not all, maxed out on his toons and he was always supplying me with gear/gems/enchants he would create while leveling.  I don’t think Arv picked up his first profession until halfway through leveling in Outland.  And boy was it a pain to catch up back then: no flying mounts to make farming easier in Kal/EK, no gold to buy mats with and Firetree was a Moderate/Heavy server, so competition for nodes and mats was fierce.

I ended up picking Blacksmithing and Mining as my main professions, because to me that’s what made sense for a plate-wearing paladin to specialize in.  Speaking of specialization, remember when Blacksmithing was broken down into two sub-specializations, Armorsmithing and Weaponsmithing and Weaponsmithing was broken down even further to Hammer-, Axe- and Swordsmithing?  Yeah, I’m glad they got rid of that and just made BS one spec, lol.

About halfway through Wrath, I dropped Mining and picked up Jewelcrafting.  Those two professions were the optimum specs that most raiding tanks had because of the stamina bonus from BS and the Dragon’s Eye bonus and extra gem sockets from JC.  I leveled up a couple of alts just for the Mining profession alone, so that they would supply Arv with the ore needed to maintain BS and JC.

I like to be self-sufficient when I can, so maximizing First Aid, Fishing (for mats of course, not for fun, lol) and Cooking allowed me to be prepared for raids, if food and bandages weren’t already provided.  This self-sufficiency transferred over to my alts as well; amongst all ten of my 85s, I have every profession covered and maxed, ready to support my band of toons and guildies.

One last thing I want to say about Jewelcrafting, this is the one profession that has single-handedly earned almost all my gold.  Gems are the only thing I really sell on the Auction House.  I buy cheap ore when it’s available and turn it around for instant profit.  With the Voltron mounts coming out in MoP, Jewelcrafting is only going to get that much profitable and sweeter, lol.


From MMO-Champion

11 responses to “Shared Topic: Jack of all trades, Illustrious Grand Master of them all

  1. That was my mindset when I made my first characters way back on Bloodhoof. The Paladin was a BS/Miner, the Warlock a Tailor/Enchanter, the Mage was an Alchmist/Herb, the Druid was Skinning/LW and the Gnome Warrior was Mining/Eng because gnomes got a bonus to eng. It all made sense at the time. It didn’t occur to me to not have a support profession on the same character.

    I still kind of go with this route when I make a new character only now I have characters that have purely support professions. For example my DK has maxed out inscription and jewelcrafting. He gets to sit in Org and look oh so pretty while doing JC dailies.

    As for “only selling gems” you control the AH in gems buddy. If you are able to find a gem that doesn’t have Arv’s name next to it it is because he doesn’t sell that cut.

    • The only two toons that don’t have max professions are Dizzee and Grym; I’m thinking Diz will go Eng/Mine and Grym will go Tailor/Enchant or Alch/Tailor to have another Transmute CD available. I’m just not sure whether to power level them up now or wait to see if the grind is easier in MoP.

      I have a ton of those JC tokens left to use, maybe around 300? Lol, I’ll probably use them up right before MoP hits.

      And I can’t really take all the credit for all gems on the AH, maybe only more recently when D3 came out, lol. You should rephrase that to say “SR’s name next to it” =). When MoP comes out, SR will definitely own the gem market with me, Slice, Zug, Van, you and Da’Mule all selling gems, lmao.

  2. I like being self sufficient too with all the professions. I still have the unique sword on my pali even thought she’s not a BS anymore. I’m looking forward to making the JC mounts too :)

  3. Sorry had to get that in before Snorack. As to professions Alot depends on the race and what my stable of toons doesn’t have. Tel started as a BS/mining Combo but swapped to JC in Wrath once I had another miner. Almost all my toons start with a gathering profession which makes leveling interesting I get distracted by the dots on my minimap which i can’t always tell are nodes or mobs which has lead to some interesting times :)

    • When I started my Alliance project on du ‘Hoof, every one of my toons there had a gathering profession. Without that initial gold flow, you almost have to have at least one gathering profession. It wasn’t until I was able to have a decent amount of gold on Drak and farming alts that I was able to switch up profs on Arv.

  4. Pingback: Shared Topic: Custom Fit Professions « Azerothian Life

Leave a Reply

